Angels and Mutants

Photo courtesy: Lora Mitchell

Circa 2050

“What is it?” his daughter asked, turning her nose up in disgust.

“She’s a pixie,” he replied.

“She’s disfigured”, the little girl said, pointing at the third wing.  “She must be evil,” she added, almost spitting the words out

Given the perfect world that they lived in, her repulsion of the image wasn’t surprising, nor was her strong reaction. With a doting smile, he told her, “She’s a three-winged angel, the rarest of them all. Legend says only a lucky few ever catch a glimpse.”

He didn’t have the heart to tell her that she was a mutant experiment, wildly gone askew.

This story is written based on Friday Fictioneers’ photo prompt at the top, hosted by Madison Woods’ blog. Please feel free to critique my attempt at a 100 word story based on a given image. For more stories on this prompt go tohttp://madison-woods.com/index-of-stories/092112-2/

23 thoughts on “Angels and Mutants

  1. Interesting that you’ve chosen a perfect world (in whatever sense) for the future. So often the future is dark, rainy and terrible, although it sounds as though intolerance is still around. 🙂

  2. I enjoyed the read. However, I must say that the object of the mutant experiment (“she”) could have referred to either the little girl or the “pixie”. I got picked on about that in a short story once so I tend to notice it now. Actually, either way makes a decent story. I assume it was referring to the little girl.
    Scott

    1. Thanks a lot.

      You are right, I should have given the girl a name. But then, its also interesting to let the reader form his own interpretations! I like your interpretation of it. 🙂

  3. When you say “perfect world” it makes me think it’s a world that’s been genetically engineered. Kind of a sweet story with a creepy bent. Not sure hope is what it speaks to me. I liked it nonetheless.
    I’m 19 on the list.

    1. Thanks for stopping by!
      Hope comes through the father’s attempt at correcting his daughter’s intolerance as well as protecting her from the imperfections of their so called perfect worlds…..

      Will roll over to yours now!

  4. I had wondered if someone would take the experimental / mutant approach – I just couldn’t think of how it would be pulled off. This is nice, though, and the fact that the father is the filter and making it a nice story for his daughter, works really well. Great writing

    1. Thanks so much Brian. I also wanted to bring out the fact that no matter how perfect the world might get….there will still be intolerance and imperfections. How we put a positive spin on it depends on us.

Leave a comment